Time Doctor alternative: TrustHours vs Time Doctor in 2026

Time Doctor is a deep monitoring and analytics product with a long feature list, SOC 2 and ISO certificates, and an Automatic app for company devices. TrustHours is a simpler tool for remote desk teams, with chat, payroll and an AI connector included.

The short answer

Choose TrustHours if you want screenshots, payroll, chat and an AI connector at $8 per active user, with employees told what is captured. Choose Time Doctor if you need ISO 27001 and SOC 2 documents, macOS or Linux apps, an API, or deep reports such as Unusual Activity and Benchmarks.

14 days free, no card. Prices and features checked 27 October 2026. We make TrustHours, so read our method and check the sources. Spot a mistake? Tell us and we will fix it.

TTrustHours
DTime Doctor
Price for payroll and screenshots$8 per user (Team)
Price for payroll and screenshots$14 monthly, $11.70 yearly (Standard)
Free planFree for 3 users
Free planNone, 14-day trial
Native HRIS or payroll syncPayroll built in
Native HRIS or payroll sync$200 a month per integration
Team chat and video callsBuilt in from Team
Team chat and video callsNot included
Hidden or non-pausable appNone
Hidden or non-pausable appAutomatic app, no pausing
AI connector (MCP)Read and act, asks first
AI connector (MCP)Read only, all plans
The honest version

Who should pick TrustHours, and who should stay on Time Doctor

Time Doctor and TrustHours both capture screenshots and activity. They differ on price structure, employee transparency and how much you want in the box.

Pick TrustHours if

A remote desk team that wants transparency and one bill

  • You want screenshots, projects, payroll and chat in one plan at $8, not $14 on Standard.
  • You do not want $200 a month for each native payroll or HRIS integration. TrustHours has payroll built in on Team.
  • You want a tool where employees are asked for permission and can pause from the tray, with no always-on mode.
  • You want an AI connector that can act as well as read, with approval before every change.
  • You want to start free with up to 3 people.
Pick Time Doctor if

Compliance, analytics depth and platform reach

  • You need ISO 27001, ISO 27701 and SOC 2 Type 2 statements, a signed DPA and a documented SLA today.
  • Your people use macOS, Ubuntu or ChromeOS, or you need a mobile timer.
  • You use the Chrome or Firefox extension with 60+ tools such as Asana, Jira and Salesforce.
  • You want deeper reports: Unusual Activity, Benchmarks AI, Meeting Insights, Office vs Remote.
  • You run BPO or enterprise deployments with GPO install, SSO and provisioning, or want BigQuery access.
Stay on Time Doctor if

Your workflow is wired into Time Doctor

  • Your payroll runs through its CSV exports to PayPal, Wise, Payoneer, Gusto, ADP or Deel and works well.
  • Your auditors already hold its SOC 2 and ISO documents.
  • You depend on 2 years of history on Premium for reporting.
  • Your team uses Ubuntu or macOS and cannot wait for the TrustHours macOS app.
Side by side

TrustHours vs Time Doctor at a glance

Sixteen things buyers ask about, side by side. Every Time Doctor figure comes from its own pages or its G2 listing.

TrustHoursTime Doctor
Free planYes Up to 3 usersNo 14-day trial, no card to start
Lowest paid price$8 per active user ($4.80 launch price)$6.70 yearly, about $8 monthly (Basic)
Comparable plan with payrollTeam $8 ($6.67 yearly)Standard about $14 ($11.70 yearly)
Full monitoring planBusiness $12 ($10 yearly)Premium about $20 ($16.70 yearly)
Paid add-onsNoneSeveral Software Cost Insights $3, HRIS and Payroll sync $200 a month each, others unpriced
ScreenshotsEvery 2, 5 or 10 min, random momentRandom within a set interval, optional blur
Video recordingScreen recording on BusinessPremium or paid add-on
PayrollTeam plan, 40 currenciesCSV exports on Standard and Premium; native sync is an add-on
Team chat and videoBuilt in from TeamNo Meeting Insights only analyses meeting time
AI connector (MCP)Read and act, per-permission, asks firstRead only; no screenshots, payroll or billing
PlatformsWindows now, macOS coming, no mobile appWindows, macOS, Ubuntu, ChromeOS browser app, mobile timer
IntegrationsDiscord and the MCP connector60+ via browser extension
Public APINo public API todayOpen API Premium
Hidden or silent modeNoneAutomatic app No interface, no pausing, all plans
CertificationsNo SOC 2 or ISO claim yetSOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, ISO 27701
Data historyScreenshots: 2 weeks (Free), 2 months (Team, Business)3 months Basic, 6 months Standard, 2 years Premium

Time Doctor loads its prices with JavaScript. Yearly figures come from its G2 listing, "Pricing provided by Time Doctor". Monthly figures come from third-party trackers and match the $14 Standard figure on our own pricing page. Time Doctor lists screenshots under Basic on its pricing page but under Standard and Premium in its help centre, so confirm the plan you need.

Pricing

Time Doctor pricing vs TrustHours pricing

Time Doctor has three paid plans and several add-ons. TrustHours has two paid plans with nothing extra. Compare the plan that matches what you need, not the entry price.

$6.70 to $16.70Time Doctor yearly price per user per month, Basic to Premium
$200 a monthEach native HRIS or Payroll integration add-on
2 months freeTime Doctor yearly discount, 16.6% off monthly

Time Doctor plans (USD, per seat per month)

PlanMonthlyYearlyWhat stands out
BasicAbout $8$6.703 months history, projects and tasks, activity tracking, optional screenshots (plan placement differs by page)
StandardAbout $14$11.70Payroll CSV exports, attendance and schedules, leave, time approvals, Web and App usage, 6 months history
PremiumAbout $20$16.70Video screencasts, client login, open API, SSO, 2 years history
EnterpriseCustomCustomPrivate cloud, custom BI dashboards, professional services

Time Doctor's pricing page did not show dollar amounts when we fetched it. Yearly figures are from its G2 listing; monthly figures are about, from third-party trackers dated October 2026. A tracker also reports the lineup moved from three to four tiers in July 2026. Check the live page before you buy.

TrustHours plans (USD, per active user per month)

PlanListLaunch*Includes
Free$0$0Up to 3 users, desktop app, live board, timesheets, screenshots every 10 min
Team$8$4.80Unlimited users, screenshots every 2, 5 or 10 min, projects, chat and video, payroll in 40 currencies, leave, reports, MCP connector
Business$12$7.20Team plus activity level, app and website usage, live view, screen recording, built-in AI assistant, priority support

*40% off until 31 December 2026. The first 20 teams keep the launch price for life. Pay yearly and get 2 months free (about 17% off). No add-ons, no seat minimum, billed only for active users. See the live TrustHours pricing page.

Time Doctor add-ons

Add-onPriceNotes
Software Cost Insights$3 per user per monthBasic and Standard
HRIS native integration$200 per integration per monthAccount-level, not per user
Payroll native integration$200 per integration per monthAccount-level, not per user
Benchmarks AI, Unusual Activity, Meeting Insights, Office vs Remote, Video recordingPriced per user per monthAmounts not shown on the page we read
SSO, user provisioning, BigQuery accessPriced per account per monthIncluded on Premium or Enterprise

The Payroll feature itself, meaning CSV exports for PayPal, Wise, Payoneer, Gusto, ADP and Deel, is included in Standard and Premium. The $200 add-ons are the native syncs.

What it costs per month

ScenarioTrustHours: monthly bill / yearly billTrustHours launch price (monthly bill)Time Doctor: monthly bill / yearly bill
Standard vs Team: 5 people$40 / $33$24$70 / $58
Standard vs Team: 10 people$80 / $67$48$140 / $117
Standard vs Team: 25 people$200 / $167$120$350 / $292
Standard vs Team: 50 people$400 / $334$240$700 / $585
Premium vs Business: 5 people$60 / $50$36$100 / $84
Premium vs Business: 10 people$120 / $100$72$200 / $167
Premium vs Business: 25 people$300 / $250$180$500 / $418
Premium vs Business: 50 people$600 / $500$360$1000 / $835

Monthly bill is month-to-month. Yearly bill shows the per-month equivalent. Time Doctor monthly figures are about, from third-party trackers. TrustHours yearly is $8 or $12 with 2 months free. Prices exclude tax and Time Doctor add-ons.

Monthly cost for 10 people, billed monthly

Standard vs Team. USD, list prices checked October 2026.

TrustHours Team$80
TrustHours Team (launch)$48
Time Doctor Standard$140
Time Doctor Premium$200

Cost calculator: TrustHours vs Time Doctor

Move the slider to your team size. Figures are list prices from the vendors' own pages, October 2026.

10people

Where TrustHours is cheaper

  • Team vs Standard: $8 against about $14 monthly, $6.67 against $11.70 yearly.
  • Business vs Premium: $12 against about $20 monthly, which buys live view, screen recording and app usage.
  • Native payroll or HRIS sync costs $200 a month each on Time Doctor. TrustHours payroll is part of Team.
  • A free plan for up to 3 users. Time Doctor has only a trial.

Where Time Doctor is cheaper or stronger

  • Basic at $6.70 yearly is close to TrustHours Team at $6.67, and below the $8 monthly list price.
  • Depth: Unusual Activity, Benchmarks and Meeting Insights reports go beyond what TrustHours offers.
  • Certifications and API: SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001 and an open API on Premium.
  • Reach: macOS, Ubuntu and ChromeOS, plus 60+ integrations.
What gets captured

What Time Doctor and TrustHours capture, and who sees it

Time Doctor offers two desktop apps: Interactive, where the employee starts and pauses, and Automatic, which runs without an interface or pausing. This is the biggest difference in how the two products treat employees.

TrustHoursTime Doctor
Typed text (keylogging)Never Counts onlyNo Time Doctor says the actual keys pressed are not recorded; activity shows as keystrokes and mouse movements per minute
ScreenshotsAt a random moment in each interval (2, 5 or 10 min), passwords masked, skipped during breaksRandom within the interval you set, all connected monitors, optional irreversible blur
Webcam and audioNo webcam or microphone capture. Screen recording is Business only, behind its own switchNo webcam shots per Time Doctor. Video screencasts on Premium or as an add-on. Audio not stated
Apps and websitesApp and website usage on BusinessWeb and App Usage reports with productivity ratings on Standard and up
What the employee seesPermission asked before tracking starts. Employees see their own hours, screenshots and activityEmployees can view their own reports in the web app. Owner decides who sees screencasts. Own-screenshot viewing is not confirmed on a page we read
PausingPause or take a break from the tray. Manager sees the pause. Nothing is capturedDepends on app Interactive: employee pauses. Automatic: no pausing
Deleting a screenshotYour company controls retention: 2 weeks on Free, 2 months on Team and BusinessRegular users can delete screenshots only if Can Edit Time is on for them
Background or silent modeNoneAutomatic app Silent tracking, no interface, no pausing, tracks whenever the computer is on. Available on all plans. Time Doctor tells customers to disclose it and get consent
Fake-activity detectionActivity counts on Business. No jiggler detector is marketedTime Doctor says its Unusual Activity report names mouse jigglers and auto-clickers. Plan not stated
UK and EU defaultPermission asked before tracking starts everywhereNew UK and EU trial accounts start with screenshots off until an admin enables them
How long data is keptScreenshots: 2 weeks (Free), 2 months (Team, Business)Tracking history: 3 months, 6 months or 2 years by plan
Who can see screenshotsOwner and the people they authorise; each employee sees their ownAccess levels the Owner chooses

Vendor detection claims are marketing, not independent tests. We do not call Time Doctor's Automatic app "stealth", because Time Doctor does not use that word and recommends disclosure. TrustHours has no always-on mode. See privacy and trust for notice rules in New York, Connecticut, Delaware, Maine and the UK.

Features

Features that decide the choice

Eight areas where the two tools differ in ways that change your day.

Payroll

Time Doctor builds payroll CSV exports for PayPal, Wise, Payoneer, Gusto, ADP and Deel on Standard and Premium. Payroll is only available to companies using the Interactive app, not the Automatic one. A native payroll sync is a separate $200 a month add-on.

TrustHours runs payroll in 40 currencies with salary history on Team, built from tracked hours, with no add-on.

TrustHoursBuilt-in payroll from Team.
Time DoctorCSV exports on Standard and Premium; native sync $200 a month.

Team chat and video calls

TrustHours includes channels, files and video calls on Team and Business. Time Doctor has none. Its Meeting Insights add-on analyses how much time goes into meetings, which is a different job.

TrustHoursChat, files and video built in.
Time DoctorNo chat. Meeting Insights is analytics.

AI connector

Both have an MCP connector. Time Doctor's is on every plan, read-only, for Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini, Cursor and others. It does not expose raw screenshots, payroll or billing, and API keys last three months.

TrustHours reads and acts, for example approving requests or posting to a channel, only for permissions you grant and with a question before each action. See the AI connector page.

TrustHoursRead and act with approval.
Time DoctorRead only, all plans.

Reports and analytics

Time Doctor has Timeline, Hours Tracked, Activity Summary, an Executive Dashboard, and optional AI reports such as Benchmarks, Unusual Activity and Software Cost Insights. If analytics depth is your priority, it is ahead.

TrustHours has reports, a daily digest and flags on Team, with activity and app usage on Business and a built-in AI assistant to ask questions of the data.

TrustHoursReports and digest; AI assistant on Business.
Time DoctorDeeper reports and AI add-ons.

Platforms and mobile

Time Doctor runs on Windows 10+, macOS Big Sur+ and Ubuntu, offers a ChromeOS browser app, and has a mobile timer with no screenshots. TrustHours ships Windows today, with macOS coming for founding teams first, and no mobile app.

TrustHoursWindows now, macOS coming.
Time DoctorWindows, macOS, Ubuntu, ChromeOS, mobile timer.

Integrations and API

Time Doctor lists 60+ integrations through its Chrome and Firefox extension, and an open API on Premium. TrustHours has Discord and MCP, and no public API or SSO today.

TrustHoursDiscord and MCP.
Time Doctor60+ via extension, open API, SSO on Premium.

Security and compliance

Time Doctor states SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001:2022 and ISO 27701:2019, a signed DPA with Standard Contractual Clauses, TLS in transit and encryption at rest, and a 72-hour first breach notice. It lists AWS, GCP and Anthropic among sub-processors.

TrustHours lets you choose a data region and publishes exactly what it captures. It does not claim SOC 2 or ISO yet.

TrustHoursSelectable data region.
Time DoctorSOC 2, ISO 27001 and 27701, DPA.

Time approvals, attendance and leave

Time Doctor Standard adds schedules, attendance, leave and break tracking and time approvals. TrustHours Team includes check-ins, flags, leave and holidays, manual time requests and a daily digest.

TrustHoursLeave, holidays and requests on Team.
Time DoctorAttendance, schedules and approvals on Standard.
Reputation

Time Doctor reviews and reputation

Review platforms show very different pictures for Time Doctor, so we show all three. Scores were taken on 27 October 2026.

SourceTrustHoursTime DoctorWhat to know
G2Too new to have a rating yet4.4 out of 5 from 497 reviewsMany reviews are seller-invited
CapterraToo new to have a rating yet4.5 out of 5 from 549 reviewsPraised for remote visibility; sync problems are the top complaint
TrustpilotToo new to have a rating yet1.2 out of 5 from 235 reviewsOnly 7 reviews in the last 12 months; many mention billing or cancellation; Time Doctor replies to some

TrustHours is new and has no review-site score. G2 and Capterra reviewers and Trustpilot reviewers are different groups, which explains the gap in Time Doctor's scores. Judge it on your own trial.

What Time Doctor users praise

  • Accurate time tracking (the most mentioned theme on G2).
  • Ease of use and setup.
  • Remote workforce visibility.
  • Reports and screencasts that help spot performance issues early.
  • Feels non-intrusive to some users.

What Time Doctor users criticise

  • Recurring technical and syncing problems (a majority of negative Capterra reviews).
  • Price, especially for small teams.
  • Cancellation and billing disputes (Trustpilot, individual accounts).
  • Resource use by the app.
  • Auto-start tracking can feel intrusive to some employees.
Switching

How to switch from Time Doctor to TrustHours

Plan an afternoon, and start at the beginning of a pay period.

  1. Export from Time Doctor first. Run Custom Export (CSV or Excel), the Hours Tracked report and any payroll CSVs. Select and download screencasts you need to keep. Live dashboard access ends after you cancel.
  2. Start a TrustHours trial. 14 days, no card. Create your workspace and invite the team. TrustHours cannot import time entries from other trackers today, so past hours stay in your export.
  3. Tell your team before you install. Send the message below and link what TrustHours sees. People accept tracking they were told about.
  4. Install the Windows app and set the rules. Choose the screenshot interval, blur and skipped apps, then add pay rates. macOS is coming; founding teams get early access.
  5. Run one pay period in TrustHours. Compare hours with your Time Doctor export for a week if you want a safety net.
  6. Cancel Time Doctor. Only the account owner can cancel, in Settings and Billing through the Cancel account link. Charges are taken at the end of a trial or billing cycle, so cancel before your renewal date and keep a confirmation.

Several Trustpilot reviewers describe difficulty cancelling. These are individual accounts and Time Doctor has replied to some. We have not tested the process, so keep proof of cancellation.

Message to send your team before you switch

Subject: We are moving to TrustHours for time tracking

Hi team,

From [date] we are moving from Time Doctor to TrustHours. Here is what that means for you.

- You will be asked for permission before tracking starts.
- It captures your tracked time, a screenshot at a random moment in each interval, which apps were active, and keyboard and mouse activity counts. It never records what you type.
- Nothing is captured while you are paused, on a break, or the app is closed. You can pause from the tray icon at any time.
- You can see your own hours, screenshots and activity in your app.

The full explanation is here: https://trusthours.com/what-trusthours-sees/

Please install the app by [date]. Reply to me with any questions.

[Your name]
How we compared

Method, disclosure and corrections

Who wrote this. TrustHours made this page, so we have an interest in you choosing us. We tried to make it useful even if you stay on Time Doctor, which is why it says where Time Doctor is the better fit.

How we checked. Every Time Doctor statement comes from a Time Doctor page, its help centre, or its listings on review sites, opened on 27 October 2026 (see Sources). When a figure comes from a pricing guide or a listing because the vendor page loads prices with JavaScript, we say so. Vendor claims are shown as claims. Time Doctor's plan prices are rendered by JavaScript, so we used its G2 listing and dated third-party trackers and say so.

What we did not do. We did not run a hands-on accuracy test, and we do not repeat unverified opinions from forums. Where we could not confirm something, we left it out or marked it as not stated.

Corrections. Prices and features change. If you find something out of date, tell us and we will fix it and update the date. Last full check: 27 October 2026.

Questions

TrustHours vs Time Doctor: questions people ask

What is the best Time Doctor alternative?

For a remote desk team that wants screenshots, payroll, chat and an AI connector at one price, TrustHours is built for that. For basic free tracking try Clockify or Jibble. For analytics with stealth options consider Insightful. For security-grade monitoring consider Teramind. For no monitoring at all, Toggl. Each has its own comparison page here.

How much does Time Doctor cost per user?

About $6.70 for Basic, $11.70 for Standard and $16.70 for Premium per user per month billed yearly, according to its G2 listing. Monthly billing is about $8, $14 and $20. There is no free plan, only a 14-day trial, and native payroll or HRIS syncs are $200 a month each.

Is TrustHours cheaper than Time Doctor?

For comparable plans, yes. TrustHours Team is $8 against about $14 for Time Doctor Standard monthly, and about $6.67 against $11.70 yearly. TrustHours Business is $12 against about $20 for Premium. Time Doctor Basic at $6.70 yearly is close to TrustHours Team yearly.

Can I use Time Doctor for free?

Not permanently. Time Doctor offers a 14-day trial of its Premium features with no card required to start, then you choose a paid plan. Charges start when the trial ends. TrustHours has a free plan for up to 3 users, plus a 14-day trial of paid plans.

Does Time Doctor take screenshots?

Yes. It takes screenshots at random times within an interval you set, covering all connected monitors, with optional blur that cannot be undone. Video screencasts need Premium or an add-on. TrustHours also takes screenshots at a random moment within each interval and masks passwords.

Is Time Doctor a keylogger?

Time Doctor says the actual keys pressed are not recorded. It shows activity as keystrokes and mouse movements per minute, not what was typed. TrustHours works the same way: it counts keyboard and mouse activity and never records what you type.

Does Time Doctor record sound or use the webcam?

Time Doctor states that it does not take webcam shots. Its Premium video screencasts record the screen. Audio recording is not described on the pages we read. TrustHours has no webcam or microphone capture; its optional screen recording on Business records the screen only.

Can Time Doctor detect a mouse jiggler?

Time Doctor says its Unusual Activity report can name mouse jigglers and auto-clickers, and that it does not offer fully customisable real-time alerts by default. This is a vendor claim, not an independent test, and hardware jigglers are harder for any software to spot.

What is the Time Doctor Automatic app?

It is a desktop app mode with silent tracking, no user interface and no pausing, available on all plans, and it tracks whenever the computer is on. Time Doctor recommends it for work-only devices and tells customers to disclose monitoring and get consent. TrustHours has no always-on mode.

Does Time Doctor have an AI or MCP connector?

Yes. Time Doctor's MCP connector is on all plans and is read-only, for Owners, Admins and Managers, working with Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini and Cursor. It excludes raw screenshots, payroll and billing. TrustHours' connector can also take actions you approve, such as approving leave or posting to chat.

Does Time Doctor run payroll?

It exports payroll CSVs for PayPal, Wise, Payoneer, Gusto, ADP and Deel on Standard and Premium, for companies using the Interactive app. A native payroll integration is a $200 a month add-on. TrustHours includes payroll in 40 currencies with salary history on Team.

Does Time Doctor have team chat?

We found no chat or video calling in Time Doctor. Its Meeting Insights add-on measures meeting time, not chat. TrustHours includes team chat, files and video calls on Team and Business.

Can I import Time Doctor data into TrustHours?

Not today. Export your Custom Export, Hours Tracked and payroll reports from Time Doctor and keep them for your records, then start fresh in TrustHours at the start of a pay period.

Is TrustHours as secure as Time Doctor?

Time Doctor states SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001 and ISO 27701. TrustHours lets you choose a data region and publishes what it captures, but does not claim SOC 2 or ISO yet. If you must show those certificates to a customer or auditor, Time Doctor is the safer pick today.

Is it legal to monitor employees with Time Doctor or TrustHours?

The software is lawful in most places, but notice rules vary. New York, Connecticut and Delaware require written notice, and UK guidance expects openness and the least intrusive approach. Tell staff first. This is general information, not legal advice.

Sources

Where every number comes from

Vendor pages, help centres and review sites, each opened on 27 October 2026. Where a vendor page loads its prices with JavaScript, the note beside the figure says which guide or listing it comes from.

  1. Time Doctor pricing page. www.timedoctor.com/pricing
  2. G2: Time Doctor listing (yearly prices). www.g2.com/products/time-doctor/reviews
  3. CostBench: Time Doctor price history (third party). costbench.com/software/time-tracking/time-doctor/price-history/
  4. Time Doctor: screencasts and screenshots. support.timedoctor.com/knowledge/the-screencasts-screenshots-feature
  5. Time Doctor: what it monitors. support.timedoctor.com/knowledge/what-does-time-doctor-monitor-on-my-computer
  6. Time Doctor: Automatic vs Interactive apps. support.timedoctor.com/knowledge/silent-vs.-interactive-apps
  7. Time Doctor: Unusual Activity report. www.timedoctor.com/features/unusual-activity-report
  8. Time Doctor: payroll help. support.timedoctor.com/knowledge/how-to-configure-and-use-payroll-in-time-doctor
  9. Time Doctor: MCP help. support.timedoctor.com/knowledge/connecting-an-ai-application-to-time-doctor-mcp
  10. Time Doctor: platforms. support.timedoctor.com/knowledge/differences-between-the-mobile-app-and-the-desktop-app
  11. Time Doctor: security and compliance. www.timedoctor.com/security-and-compliance
  12. Time Doctor: legal documents. support.timedoctor.com/knowledge/overview-of-time-doctors-legal-and-compliance-documentation
  13. Capterra: Time Doctor. www.capterra.com/p/129984/Time-Doctor/
  14. Trustpilot: Time Doctor. www.trustpilot.com/review/timedoctor.com
  15. TrustHours pricing. trusthours.com/pricing/
  16. TrustHours: what TrustHours sees. trusthours.com/what-trusthours-sees/

See it with your own team.

14 days free, no card needed. Start with the Free plan for up to 3 people, or try Team with everyone. If it does not fit, you have lost nothing.