Security and DLP
Teramind monitors email, files, clipboard and messaging, and sells data loss prevention and insider-threat detection. TrustHours does none of that. If your risk is data leaving the company, Teramind is the right category.
Teramind is a security-grade monitoring platform: keystroke logging, screen recording with live view, data loss prevention and a hidden agent for vetted customers. TrustHours is the opposite end of the market: open, employee-visible tracking for remote teams, with payroll and chat.
Choose TrustHours if you run a remote team that you want to track openly for hours and pay, without keystroke logging or hidden agents. Choose Teramind if you need insider-threat detection, data loss prevention, full screen recording and keystroke capture for compliance or security reasons.
Teramind and TrustHours are rarely a like-for-like choice. They serve different problems: one manages insider risk, the other manages remote working time.
Sixteen things buyers ask about, side by side. Every Teramind figure comes from its own pages, knowledge base and review listings.
| TrustHours | Teramind | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes Up to 3 users | No |
| Lowest paid price | $8 per active user ($4.80 launch price) | $14 per seat per month, billed yearly (Starter) |
| Higher plans | Business $12 ($10 yearly) | UAM $28, DLP $32 yearly; Enterprise custom |
| Seat minimum | None | 5 seats Teramind pricing page |
| Screen recording and live view | Business only, behind its own switch | All plans |
| Keystroke logging | Never | Yes UAM and above; can be turned off |
| Audio recording | None | Yes when enabled Windows only, not on Mac |
| Hidden or stealth agent | None | Yes Vetted customers only |
| Data loss prevention | No | Yes DLP plan; clipboard on DLP+ |
| Payroll and invoicing | Payroll built in | Not offered |
| Team chat and video | Built in from Team | No It monitors IM; it is not a chat tool |
| AI connector (MCP) | Read and act, per-permission, asks first | None found Sells AI-conversation monitoring instead |
| Platforms | Windows now, macOS coming, no mobile app | Windows, macOS, Linux stealth agent; no mobile |
| Deployment | Cloud, selectable data region | Cloud, on-premise, private cloud, GovCloud |
| Integrations | Discord and MCP | 11 on G2 (SIEM and identity) |
| Security statements | No SOC 2 claim yet | SOC 2, GDPR, HIPAA badges |
Teramind loads its prices with JavaScript, so the yearly figures come from Teramind's own blog and G2 listing. Its monthly prices conflict across sources ($21, $42, $49 on its blog; $15 and $30 on G2), so the calculator compares yearly billing only. Confirm quotes with Teramind sales.
Teramind starts at $14 per seat with a 5-seat minimum, and keystroke logging and DLP cost more. TrustHours is a much lighter product at a much lower price, so the comparison is about fit, not only cost.
| Plan | Yearly | What stands out |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | $14 | Screen recording and live view, web pages and applications, geolocation not included |
| UAM | $28 | Adds keystroke logging, geolocation and more user activity monitoring |
| DLP | $32 | Adds data loss prevention and clipboard monitoring |
| Enterprise and Government | Custom | OCR, GovCloud, on-premise, custom deployment |
Teramind's own blog lists Starter at $14, UAM at $28 and DLP at $32 per seat billed yearly. Capterra lists "$14 per year", which does not match Teramind. Add-ons and any trial length were not stated on pages we could read.
| Plan | List | Launch* | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | Up to 3 users, desktop app, live board, timesheets, screenshots every 10 min |
| Team | $8 | $4.80 | Unlimited users, screenshots every 2, 5 or 10 min, projects, chat and video, payroll in 40 currencies, leave, reports, MCP connector |
| Business | $12 | $7.20 | Team plus activity level, app and website usage, live view, screen recording, built-in AI assistant, priority support |
*40% off until 31 December 2026. The first 20 teams keep the launch price for life. Pay yearly and get 2 months free (about 17% off). No add-ons, no seat minimum, billed only for active users. See the live TrustHours pricing page.
| Item | Detail | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Seat minimum | 5 seats | Price page lists 5, 10, 20 seat options |
| Yearly discount | 8% | Per Teramind price page |
| Keystroke logging | UAM and above | Starter has screen recording but not keystrokes |
| Hidden agent | Vetted customers | Not self-serve |
Teramind says that its Stealth Agent is available exclusively to vetted customers.
| Scenario | TrustHours: monthly bill / yearly bill | TrustHours launch price (monthly bill) | Teramind: monthly bill / yearly bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter vs Team: 5 people | $40 / $33 | $24 | n/a / $70 |
| Starter vs Team: 10 people | $80 / $67 | $48 | n/a / $140 |
| Starter vs Team: 25 people | $200 / $167 | $120 | n/a / $350 |
| Starter vs Team: 50 people | $400 / $334 | $240 | n/a / $700 |
| UAM vs Business: 5 people | $60 / $50 | $36 | n/a / $140 |
| UAM vs Business: 10 people | $120 / $100 | $72 | n/a / $280 |
| UAM vs Business: 25 people | $300 / $250 | $180 | n/a / $700 |
| UAM vs Business: 50 people | $600 / $500 | $360 | n/a / $1400 |
Teramind monthly prices conflict across sources, so the bars and table compare yearly billing. We count at least 5 seats on Teramind. TrustHours yearly is $8 or $12 with 2 months free and has no minimum. The two products serve different needs, so cost is not the whole story.
Move the slider to your team size. Figures are list prices from the vendors' own pages, October 2026. We include Teramind's seat minimum.
This is the biggest difference between the two. Teramind can capture much more, including keystrokes and audio. TrustHours captures far less, openly.
| TrustHours | Teramind | |
|---|---|---|
| Typed text (keylogging) | Never Counts only | Yes Full keystroke logging captures every keystroke; can be turned off completely |
| Screenshots and recording | Random screenshots at your interval; screen recording on Business behind its own switch | Screen recording with live view of employee screens on all plans |
| Webcam and audio | No webcam or microphone capture | Webcam not directly supported. Audio recorded if enabled (Windows), not supported on Mac. Teramind advises disabling audio without strong reasons |
| Apps and websites | App and website usage on Business | Applications, websites, emails, files, social media, IMs |
| What the employee sees | Permission asked before tracking starts. Employees see their own hours, screenshots and activity | With the Revealed Agent the user clicks Start. Employees can be allowed to see their own data. Hidden Agent has no pause |
| Pausing | Pause or take a break from the tray. Manager sees the pause. Nothing is captured | Revealed Agent: monitored only after the user signs in and clicks Start. Hidden Agent: no pause |
| Hidden or stealth mode | None | Hidden Agent Operates silently and invisibly, tamper-proof install, for vetted customers. Teramind advises transparency and notes consent may be required |
| Fake-activity detection | Activity counts on Business. No jiggler detector is marketed | OMNI behaviour analytics detects mouse jigglers and automated key-pressing. Plan not stated |
| Per-app controls | One switch to blur, or list apps to skip | Suspend rules per app or site disable tracking and recording for those apps |
| How long data is kept | Screenshots: 2 weeks (Free), 2 months (Team, Business) | Not stated on pages we read |
Teramind's own privacy-friendly setup guide tells customers to turn off keystroke logging and audio unless they have strong reasons. Detection claims are vendor statements. Hidden monitoring raises legal duties in many places: see privacy and trust for notice rules in New York, Connecticut, Delaware, Maine and the UK.
Six areas where the two tools differ in ways that change your day.
Teramind monitors email, files, clipboard and messaging, and sells data loss prevention and insider-threat detection. TrustHours does none of that. If your risk is data leaving the company, Teramind is the right category.
TrustHours is a time tracker with payroll in 40 currencies, projects, tasks, clients, leave and holidays. Teramind lists no payroll, invoicing, chat or projects.
TrustHours includes channels, files and video calls on Team. Teramind monitors messaging apps but is not one.
Teramind sells AI governance, recording AI conversations, rather than an MCP connector. TrustHours' connector lets Claude or ChatGPT read and act on your time data with approval. See the AI connector page.
Teramind supports Windows 10+ and Server 2016+, macOS and a Linux stealth agent (generally available from 13 August 2026), with on-premise and GovCloud options. TrustHours is Windows today in the cloud, with macOS coming.
Teramind lists 11 integrations on G2, mostly SIEM and identity tools. TrustHours has Discord and MCP.
Teramind is well reviewed by security-minded buyers. Scores were taken on 27 October 2026.
| Source | TrustHours | Teramind | What to know |
|---|---|---|---|
| G2 | Too new to have a rating yet | 4.6 out of 5 from 184 reviews | Page dated 26 October 2026 |
| Capterra | Too new to have a rating yet | 4.7 out of 5 from 107 reviews | Checked 27 October 2026 |
| Trustpilot | Too new to have a rating yet | Not checked | We did not verify a Trustpilot score |
TrustHours is new and has no review-site score. Teramind publishes pages comparing itself to ActivTrak, Hubstaff and Time Doctor, so apply the same scepticism to its claims as to ours.
Moving from forensic monitoring to open time tracking is a policy change as well as a tool change. Agree it with legal and HR first.
Teramind sells to vetted customers on contract terms we could not read. Check your agreement before you set a switching date.
Subject: We are moving to TrustHours for time tracking Hi team, From [date] we are moving from Teramind to TrustHours. Here is what that means for you. - You will be asked for permission before tracking starts. - It captures your tracked time, a screenshot at a random moment in each interval, which apps were active, and keyboard and mouse activity counts. It never records what you type. - Nothing is captured while you are paused, on a break, or the app is closed. You can pause from the tray icon at any time. - You can see your own hours, screenshots and activity in your app. The full explanation is here: https://trusthours.com/what-trusthours-sees/ Please install the app by [date]. Reply to me with any questions. [Your name]
Who wrote this. TrustHours made this page, so we have an interest in you choosing us. We tried to make it useful even if you stay on Teramind, which is why it says where Teramind is the better fit.
How we checked. Every Teramind statement comes from a Teramind page, its help centre, or its listings on review sites, opened on 27 October 2026 (see Sources). When a figure comes from a pricing guide or a listing because the vendor page loads prices with JavaScript, we say so. Vendor claims are shown as claims. Teramind's price page is JavaScript-rendered and its monthly prices conflict, so we show yearly prices from its own blog and flag the conflict.
What we did not do. We did not run a hands-on accuracy test, and we do not repeat unverified opinions from forums. Where we could not confirm something, we left it out or marked it as not stated.
Corrections. Prices and features change. If you find something out of date, tell us and we will fix it and update the date. Last full check: 27 October 2026.
It depends on what you want from Teramind. For open time tracking with payroll, TrustHours. For workforce analytics, ActivTrak. For analytics with stealth options, Insightful. For simple time tracking with a free plan, Clockify. Each has a comparison page here.
Teramind lists Starter at $14, UAM at $28 and DLP at $32 per seat per month billed yearly, with a 5-seat minimum and an 8% yearly saving. Enterprise and Government are custom. Monthly prices differ across sources, so confirm with Teramind sales.
Yes. TrustHours Team is $6.67 yearly or $8 monthly against Teramind Starter at $14 yearly, and has a free plan and no seat minimum. But Teramind does much more in security and DLP, so they are rarely interchangeable.
Yes. Teramind has a keystroke logger that captures every keystroke, available on UAM and above, and it can be turned off. TrustHours never records what is typed and only counts keyboard activity.
Teramind says it does not support webcam monitoring directly, and its camera usage report does not capture video or audio. Audio is captured if audio monitoring is enabled on Windows, and is not supported on Mac. TrustHours has no webcam or microphone capture.
Yes. The Hidden Agent operates silently, with a tamper-proof install, and is available to vetted customers only. Teramind also advises transparency and notes consent may be required. TrustHours has no hidden mode and asks employees for permission.
Teramind says its OMNI analytics detects mouse jigglers and automated key-pressing. This is a vendor claim, and plan availability was not stated. TrustHours does not market jiggler detection.
No. Capterra lists no free version, and Teramind sells on a seat basis with a 5-seat minimum. Trial length was not stated on pages we read. TrustHours has a free plan for up to 3 users and a 14-day trial.
No. Teramind lists no payroll, invoicing, chat or kiosk features. TrustHours includes payroll in 40 currencies, chat and leave on Team.
We found none. Teramind markets AI governance, recording employees' AI conversations. TrustHours has an MCP connector for Claude and ChatGPT that reads and acts with your approval.
Yes. Teramind supports macOS with both agents, and a Linux stealth agent became generally available on 13 August 2026. TrustHours supports Windows now, with macOS coming for the first 20 founding teams.
Not today. Export reports and keep any logs your policy requires, then start fresh in TrustHours at the start of a pay period.
Teramind shows SOC 2, GDPR and HIPAA badges and offers on-premise deployment. TrustHours has a selectable data region and publishes what it captures, but does not claim SOC 2 yet. If you need those, Teramind is the safer choice today.
It depends on place and purpose. Several places require written notice of electronic monitoring, and UK guidance expects openness and the least intrusive approach. Teramind itself advises turning keystroke logging off unless justified. This is general information, not legal advice.
Vendor pages, help centres and review sites, each opened on 27 October 2026. Where a vendor page loads its prices with JavaScript, the note beside the figure says which guide or listing it comes from.
14 days free, no card needed. Start with the Free plan for up to 3 people, or try Team with everyone. If it does not fit, you have lost nothing.
Related reading: what TrustHours sees, privacy and trust, the AI connector, free tools.